Mike Patton must laugh at rock bands that take extended periods between albums and complain of time restraints. Since the dissolution of Faith No More in 1998, Patton worked like a man possessed — unleashing a steady stream of releases by the numerous groups he fronts — among them Mr. Bungle, Fantômas, and Tomahawk (not to mention that he founded his own label, Ipecac). Joining Patton in Tomahawk is a star-studded cast that includes former Jesus Lizard/Hank Williams III guitarist Duane Denison, former Mark of Cain/Helmet drummer John Stanier, and Melvins bassist Kevin Rutmanis, who prove to be quite similar musically to FNM’s latter-day output (circa Angel Dust, King for a Day, and Album of the Year). October 2001 saw the release of Tomahawk’s self-titled debut on Ipecac (produced by Joe “Jerry” Reed, Emmylou Harris, the Judds’ Joe Funderburk), followed with a supporting tour. In May 2003, the supergroup completed another savage mix of experimental alternative metal titled Mit Gas with Joe Barresi before founding member Rutmanis left the band. In 2007, inspired by Denison’s visit to Indian reservations on tour as guitarist for Hank Williams III, Tomahawk switched gears and recorded Anonymous, a concept album that combined spooky Native American-inspired songs with metal. The next few years were quiet for the band, as the members pursued other projects, and in 2012, Ipecac released a set of CDs that bundled all three Tomahawk albums, titled Eponymous to Anonymous, before completing 2013’s Oddfellows, which featured replacement bassist Trevor Dunn of Mr. Bungle.

Tomahawk is available for corporate events, private shows, milestone celebrations (birthday, anniversary), fundraisers, festivals, and more.